This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Mallory Bechtel

Mallory Bechtel to make Broadway debut in Dear Evan Hansen

Ms. Bechtel assumes the role of Zoe Murphy, with original cast member Laura Dreyfuss exiting the production on July 15, 2018.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

She has been found! Newcomer Mallory Bechtel - a 2018 high school graduate - is set to make her Broadway debut as Zoe Murphy in the Tony Award-winning "Best Musical" Dear Evan Hansen at the Music Box Theatre from July 31, 2018. Her screen credits include the horror movie "Hereditary" and "Law & Order: Special Victims Unit". Original cast member Laura Dreyfuss will play her final performance as Zoe on July 15, with Olivia Puckett covering the role from July 17 to 29.

The current principal cast of Dear Evan Hansen includes Taylor Trensch (as Evan Hansen), Tony Award winner Rachel Bay Jones (as Heidi Hansen), Alex Boniello (as Connor Murphy), Laura Dreyfuss (as Zoe Murphy), Jennifer Laura Thompson (as Cynthia Murphy), Michael Park (as Larry Murphy), Sky Lakota-Lynch (as Jared Kleinman), and Phoenix Best (as Alana Beck).

As previously reported, original cast member Rachel Bay Jones will play her final performance in her Tony Award-winning role as Heidi Hansen on August 5, with replacement casting still to be announced.

Dear Evan Hansen began previews on November 14, 2016 and officially opened on December 4. Read our 5* review.

Dear Evan Hansen features a book by Tony Award winner Steven Levenson, music and lyrics by Tony & Academy Award winners Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, and is directed by four-time Tony Award nominee Michael Greif.

Synopsis: "All his life Evan Hansen has felt invisible. To his peers, to the girl he loves, sometimes even to his own mother. But that was before he wrote the letter - that led to the incident - that started the lie - that ignited a movement - that inspired a community - and changed Evan's status from the ultimate outsider into the somebody everyone wants to know. But how long can Evan keep his secret? And at what price? A tribute to the outsider in us all, Dear Evan Hansen is about someone you know, maybe even someone you are, but more than anything, it's about discovering the person we all long to be - ourselves."

The creative team features choreography by Danny Mefford, musical direction by Ben Cohn, music supervision by Alex Lacamoire, scenic design by David Korins, costume design by Emily Rebholz, lighting design by Japhy Weideman, sound design by Nevin Steinberg, and projection design by Peter Nigrini.

At last year's 71st Annual Tony Awards, the musical picked up the coveted award for "Best Musical," as well as "Best Book of a Musical," "Best Original Score Written for the Theatre," "Best Orchestrations," "Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role in a Musical" for Ben Platt and "Best Performance by an Actress in a Featured Role in a Musical" for Rachel Bay Jones.

Dear Evan Hansen is produced on Broadway by Second Stage Theater in association with Stacey Mindich Productions.

Dear Evan Hansen Tickets are available now for performances through to April 21, 2019.

(Photo courtesy of Grapevine PR)

Originally published on