Hedda Gabler: Michael Cerveris and Paul Sparks to star in Roundabout revival

Roundabout Theatre Company has announced Tony award winner 'Michael Cerveris' (Jorgen Tesman) & Paul Sparks (Ejlert Lovborg) will join previously announced Tony award winner Mary-Louise Parker (Hedda Gabler) in a new Broadway production of Hedda Gabler by Henrik Ibsen. The production features a new adaptation by Christopher Shinn and will be directed by Ian Rickson.

The play will open at the American Airline Theatre on 25 Jan 2009, following previews from 6 Jan, for a limited engagement playing through to 29 Mar 2009.

The design team includes Hildegard Bechtler (Sets), Ann Roth (Costumes), Natasha Katz (Lights), John Gromada (Sound). Additional cast members will be announced shortly.

In Hedda Gabler, the newly-wed Hedda Tesman finds herself bored with married life to her scholar husband, George Tesman. As the daughter of General Gabler, she had grown accustomed to the freedom and exciting social world of her father�s home. When her rival, Mrs. Elvsted, reenters her life with Hedda�s former lover, Eilert Lovberg in tow, Hedda sets out on a shocking path of destruction that affects the lives of everyone around her.

Hedda Gabler is Henrik Ibsen�s social drama of a caged woman in the late nineteenth century explores her tormented desire for escape and her yearning for individual and spiritual freedom.

Mary-Louise Parker (Hedda Gabler): Tony, Emmy & Golden Globe winning actress Mary-Louise Parker�s return to Broadway following her 2004 Tony-nominated performance in Craig Lucas� 'Reckless.' Parker won the 2001 Tony Award for Best Actress in a Play for her performance as 'Catherine' in 'Proof' (2000). Her other Broadway credits includes 'Bus Stop' (1996 revival) and 'Prelude to a Kiss' (1990). Parker won both an Emmy Award and a Golden Globe award for her work in the TV mini series 'Angels in America,' and won her second Golden Globe Award for the TV series 'Weeds'.

Michael Cerveris (Jorgen Tesman) can be currently seen off-Broadway starring in Sondheim's Road Show (at the Public Theatre). Cerveris won a Tony Award for his portrayal of 'John Wilkes Booth' in 'Assassins' (2004), and was nominated for Tony's for his performances in 'The Who's Tommy' (1993), 'Sweeney Todd' (2005 reviva) and 'Lovemusik' (2007).

Paul Sparks (Ejlert Lovborg) will be making his Broadway debut in a major role, he has previously understudied in 'Take Me Out' (2003). Off-Broadway credits include 'Bug' at the Barrow Street Theatre, 'Landscape of the Body' produced by the Signature Theatre Company, 'Essential Self-Defense' produced by playwright Horizons and MTC's 'Pumpgirl.'

Henrik Ibsen's (Playwright -1828 -1906) plays, in addition to Hedda Gabler, include 'A Doll's House,' 'Ghosts,' 'An Enemy of the People,' 'The Lady from the Sea,' 'Peer Gynt,' 'Pillars of Society,' 'The Wild Duck,' 'Rosmersholm,' 'The Master Builder,' 'Little Eyolf,' 'John Gabriel Borkman' and 'When We Dead Awaken.'

Ian Rickson was Artistic Director at the Royal Court from 1998 to 2006, during which time he directed The Seagull (currently on Broadway). He previously directed Conor McPherson's 'The Weir' (1999) on Broadway.

Christopher Shinn (Adaptation) plays have been premiered by the Royal Court, Lincoln Center, Manhattan Theatre Club, Playwrights Horizons, the Vineyard Theatre, South Coast Rep, and Soho Theatre. He is a winner of an OBIE in Playwriting, and a Guggenheim Fellowship in Playwriting.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy