This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Hamilton wins the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Drama

It was announced yesterday, 18 April 2016, that Lin-Manuel Miranda's hit musical Hamilton has won the 2016 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, making it only the 9th musical to win since 1930.

The award, which is self-nominated, is seen as being one of the highest achievements in American drama, and is awarded to "a distinguished play by an American author, preferably original in its source and dealing with American life". It includes a $10,000 cash prize that in the case of the Drama award can be divided between the writing team.

Runners up in the 2016 awards were Stephen Karam's play The Humans, which is currently running at the Helen Hayes Theatre, and Gloria by Branden Jacobs-Jenkins.

Hamilton is the first musical to win since 2010, when Tom Kitt and Brian Yorkey's musical drama Next to Normal took home the award. Musicals have won the award roughly once every decade since 1932, when Of Thee I Sing! by George S. Kaufman, Morrie Ryskind and Ira Gershwin was the first to win.

Pulitzer Prize-winning Musicals

Of Thee I Sing by George and Ira Gershwin (1932)

South Pacific by Rodgers and Hammerstein (1950)

Fiorello! By Bock & Harnick (1960)

How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying by Frank Loesser (1962)

A Chorus Line by Marvin Hamlisch, Ed Kleban, James Kirkwood, and Nicholas Dante (1976)

Sunday in the Park with George by Stephen Sondheim and James Lapine (1985)

Rent by Jonathan Larson (1996)

Next to Normal by Brian Yorkey and Tom Kitt (2010)

Hamilton by Lin-Manuel Miranda (2016)

The Broadway production of Hamilton officially opened on 6 August 2015 to excellent reviews, following previews from 13 July, and is currently booking through to 29 January 2017.

Hamilton features a book, music, and lyrics by Tony winner Lin-Manuel Miranda, and is inspired by the book "Alexander Hamilton" by Ron Chernow.

Hamilton is directed by Thomas Kail, with music direction and orchestrations by Alex Lacamoire, choreography by Andy Blankenbuehler, scenic design by David Korins, costume design by Paul Tazewell, lighting design by Howell Binkley, and sound design by Nevin Steinberg. It is produced on Broadway by The Public Theater, Jeffrey Seller, Sander Jacobs and Jill Furman.

- by Dom O'Hanlon

Originally published on