Drama League nominations: Patina Miller & Michael Urie

The Drama League has announced that Patina Miller and Michael Urie will announce the nominations for The 79th Annual Drama League Awards on 23 Apr 2013 at an 11am press conference at Sardi's Restaurant in midtown Manhattan.

Patina Miller is currently appearing in Broadway in the revival of the musical, 'Pippin.' Her Broadway credits include 'Sister Act.' Off-Broadway: 'Ragtime,' 'Lost in the Stars,' 'Hair,' 'Romantic Poetry.' West End: 'Sister Act.'

Michael Urie is currently appearing in the Off-Broadway production of 'Buyer and Cellar.' New York Theatre credits include 'How To Succeed in Business Without Really Trying' (Broadway), 'The Cherry Orchard' (CSC), 'Angels in America' (The Signature). TV: "Partners" and "Ugly Betty".

As previously announced, The 79th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon is set for 17 May, 2013 in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square (1535 Broadway at 46th St.). The event begins at noon. AThe event will be hosted by David Hyde Pierce.

In addition to The Distinguished Performance Award, The Drama League's 3,000 members vote on four other annual competitive awards: Distinguished Production of a Play, Distinguished Production of a Musical, Distinguished Revival of a Play and Distinguished Revival of a Musical.

In addition to the competitive categories, it was previously announced earlier this year, Tony, Drama Desk and Grammy Award winner Bernadette Peters will receive the Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award in recognition of her contribution to the musical theatre, presented by Emmy Award winner Mary Tyler Moore; Madison Square Garden Entertainment & The Rockettes will receive the Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award for the continuing efforts in promoting live theatre presented by Tony Award-winner Tommy Tune; and Tony Award-winner Jerry Mitchell will receive The Founders Award for Excellence in Directing, presented by pop icon Cyndi Lauper.

The Drama League Awards Eligibility Committee recently determined that productions transferring from Off-Broadway to Broadway, or vice versa, in successive years are now eligible for consideration in both seasons.

The 79th Annual Awards Ceremony and Luncheon includes a pre-awards cocktail reception, luncheon, and awards presentation. It will be held at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in the Broadway Ballroom on 17 May 2013.

First awarded in 1922 and formalized in 1935, The Drama League Awards are the oldest theatrical honors in America. They are the only major theatergoer awards chosen by audience members - specifically, by the thousands of Drama League members nationwide who attend Broadway and Off-Broadway productions.

Patina MillerMichael Urie

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy