Drama League announces the recipients of its 2009 Special Recognitions awards

The Drama League has announced the recipients of its 2009 Special Recognitions, to be presented along with its five competitive production and performance awards at The 75th Annual Drama League Awards Ceremony and Luncheon on 15 May 2009 in the Grand Ballroom of the Marriott Marquis Hotel in Times Square.

  • Elton John (Billy Elliot: The Musical) will receive the 'Distinguished Achievement in Musical Theatre Award'
  • Arthur Laurents (West Side Story) will be honored with the 'Julia Hansen Award for Excellence in Directing'
  • Angela Lansbury (Blithe Spirit) will receive the 'Unique Contribution to the Theatre Award'
  • Broadway producer Herb Blodgett will receive The 75th Anniversary Leadership Award.
Billy Elliot: The Musical director Stephen Daldry will be on-hand to present the award to Elton John and Broadway impresario Harold Prince will present Angela Lansbury with her award. Producer Irv Welzer will present Herb Blodgett with his award. Other presenters will be announced soon.

As previously announced Bobby Cannavale, Cheyenne Jackson and Rosie Perez will announce the nominations for the The 75th Annual Drama League Awards on 21 Apr 2009 at Sardi's Restaurant.

The event will be co-hosted by Jeremy Irons (past Drama League Award winner for 'The Real Thing') and Cynthia Nixon (currently starring in Off-Broadway's 'Distracted'), the event begins at noon.

The Drama League Awards pays tribute to the season's best performers by including the nominees of The Distinguished Performance Award on a dais. The 75th Annual Drama League Awards dais will feature approximately 60-70 stars from the 2008-09 Broadway and Off-Broadway season.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy