This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Date & Special Honorees for Lucille Lortel Awards revealed

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers have announced that the 32nd Annual Lucille Lortel Awards for outstanding achievement Off-Broadway will be held on May 7, 2017 at NYU Skirball Center.

Nominations for this year's awards will be announced on April 4, 2017. However, the special honorees have been revealed today.

The following special awards will be presented at this year's ceremony:

  • Lifetime Achievement Award: William Ivey Long (Costume Designer)
  • Edith Oliver Service to Off-Broadway: Harold Wolpert (Theatre Executive)
  • Playwrights' Sidewalk Inductee: Lynn Nottage

In addition, the committee has added "Outstanding Projection Design" as a category for this year's ceremony.

President of the Off-Broadway League, Adam Hess commented:

"Off-Broadway theatre continues to be the home for innovative and ground-breaking theatre. The Off-Broadway League is proud to continue to honor the designers that play such a vital role in Off-Broadway's success."

The 2017 Lucille Lortel Awards voting committee is appointed by the League of Off-Broadway Theatres & Producers, the Lucille Lortel Foundation, Actors' Equity Association, the Society of Stage Directors & Choreographers, and the Lucille Lortel Foundation, and includes theatre journalists, academics and other Off-Broadway professionals.

Awarded since 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Foundation.


Originally published on