Annie to open at the Palace on 8 Nov 2012

The upcoming Broadway revival of the 1977 Tony Award-winning musical Annie will open at the Palace Theatre on 8 Nov 2012, following previews from 3 Oct 2012.

"Like our title character, we're delighted to have found a home!" said producer Arielle Tepper Madover. "I couldn't be more thrilled that Annie will be back on Broadway 'Playing the Palace' in the heart of the theatre district and in a legendary Broadway theatre."

The production will be directed by three-time Tony Award winner James Lapine ('The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee,' 'Passion,' 'Falsettos') and choreographed by Tony Award winner Andy Blankenbuehler (In the Heights).

Annie features music by Charles Strouse, lyrics by Martin Charnin and book by Thomas Meehan, based on the newspaper character "Little Orphan Annie" by Harold Gray.

Eleven-year-old Lilla Crawford (Billy Elliot) will star as 'Annie,' with Emily Rosenfeld as 'Molly,' the littlest orphan; Tyrah Skye Odoms as 'Kate,' the next-to-littlest orphan; Junah Jang as 'Tessie,' the cry-baby orphan; Georgi James as 'Pepper,' the toughest orphan; Madi Rae DiPietro as 'July,' the quietest orphan and Taylor Richardson as 'Duffy,' the biggest orphan. Jaidyn Young will be the standby for the roles of 'Annie,' 'Pepper,' 'Duffy' and 'July.' Richardson will understudy the role of 'Annie.'

Additional casting will be announced in the coming weeks.

The musical tells the story of Orphan Annie, a girl whose optimism knows no bounds. Annie lives in an orphanage looked after by the cruel Miss Hannigan, but her life changes when she is selected to spend time in the house of wealthy industrialist Oliver Warbucks.

The score for Annie includes "Maybe," "It's the Hard Knock Life," "You're Never Fully Dressed Without a Smile," "Easy Street," "I Don't Need Anything But You" and the eternal anthem of optimism, "Tomorrow".

The team includes scenic design by David Korins, costume design by Susan Hilferty, lighting design by Donald Holder and sound design by Brian Ronan.

The musical will be produced on Broadway by Arielle Tepper Madover, Roger Horchow, Sally Horchow, Roger Berlind, Roy Furman, Debbie Bisno, Stacey Mindich, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Daryl Roth/Jane Bergère and Eva Price/Christina Papagjika.

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy