This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

A Little Night Music: Buntrock to play Fredrik Egerman

Stephen R. Buntrock will step into the role of 'Fredrik Egerman' in the Broadway revival of Stephen Sondheim and Hugh Wheeler's A Little Night Music , directed by Tony Award-winner Trevor Nunn, on 28 Sep 2010. Alexander Hanson, who originated the role in this production, will play his final performance on 26 Sep 2010.

From 28 Sep 2010 A Little Night Music will feature Bernadette Peters as 'Desirée Armfeldt,' Elaine Stritch as 'Madame Armfeldt,' Stephen R. Buntrock as 'Fredrik Egerman,' Bradley Dean as 'Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm,' Erin Davie as 'Countess Charlotte Malcolm,' Leigh Ann Larkin as 'Petra,' Hunter Ryan Herdlicka as 'Henrik Egerman' and 'Ramona Mallory' as Anne Egerman.

The cast also includes Ron Bohmer, Ben Davis, Jessica Grové, Gina Lamparella, Katherine McNamara, Jayne Paterson, Kevin David Thomas, Keaton Whittaker, Karen Murphy, Erin Stewart and Kevin Vortmann.

Directed by Trevor Nunn and choreographed by Lynne Page, A Little Night Music opened at the Walter Kerr Theatre on 13 Dec 2009, following previews from 24 Nov 2010, and is currently booking through to 9 Jan 2011.

The musical opened to mixed reviews: Isn't particularly subtle or graceful (NY Post); Beautiful and deeply resonant (NY1); Only Lansbury can be said to triumph (Bloomsbury); Mostly tiresome revival (The Record).

A Little Night Music - Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim, book by Hugh Wheeler - is set in turn-of-the-century Sweden where affairs of the heart are uppermost in everyone's thoughts. The story centres on the passionate liaisons between four couples over a midsummer weekend.

The Sondheim score features one of the composer's best-known songs, 'Send in the Clowns,' as well as 'Every Day a Little Death,' 'The Miller's Son' and 'A Weekend in the Country.'

The creative team for A Little Night Music includes Caroline Humphris (Musical Supervision), David Farley (Set & Costume Design), Hartley T A Kemp (Lighting Design), Dan Moses Shreier and Gareth Owen (Sound Design), Paul Huntley (Wig Design), Jason Carr (Orchestrations) and Tom Murray (Musical Direction).

A Little Night Music is produced on Broadway by Tom Viertel, Steven Baruch, Marc Routh, Richard Frankel, the Menier Chocolate Factory, Roger Berlind, David Babani, Andrew Fell and Sonia Friedman Productions.

Trevour Nunn's production of A Little Night Music had its premiere at London's 180 seat Menier Chocolate Factory Theatre from 22 Nov 2008 to 8 March 2009, before transferring to the West End's Garrick Theatre, opening 7 April 2009, following previews from 28 March 2009, where it played through to 25 Jul 2009.

A Little Night Music - originally opened in 1973 at Broadway's Shubert Theatre and ran for 601 performances. That production was directed by Harold Prince, choreographed by Patricia Birch, and featured Hermione Gingold as 'Madame Armfeldt' and Glynis Johns as 'Desiree.'


Originally published on