This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

A Lie of the Mind: full cast announced

A Lie of the Mind: full cast announced The New Group has announced the full cast for the second show in their 2009-2010 season, a revival of Sam Shepard's A Lie of the Mind, directed by Ethan Hawke. Joining the cast are Keith Carradine (B'way: Dirty Rotten Scoundrels. TV: "Dollhouse"), Laurie Metcalf (B'way: November - Tony nomination. Film: Toy Story 3) and Karen Young (Off-B'way: A Lie of the Mind - original cast. TV: "The Sopranos"). Laurie Metcalf replaces the previous announced Deirdre O'Connell, as O'Connell will continue on in her role in Playwright's Horizon Circle Mirror Transformation. The limited Off-Broadway engagement remains set to begin 29 Jan 2010 in advance of a February opening. Previously announced cast include: Josh Hamilton (at The New Group: 'Hurlyburly,' 'Things We Want'), Marin Ireland (B'way: 'After Miss Julie,' 'reasons to be pretty' - Tony nomination), Alessandro Nivola (Film: 'Mansfield Park,' 'Face/Off'), Maggie Siff (Off-B'way: 'Or,' TV: "Sons of Anarchy") and Frank Whaley (Film: 'Pulp Fiction,' 'Swimming with Sharks'). A Lie of the Mind centers on Jake, who is blinded by jealousy and rage, and believes he may have murdered his wife. While seeking refuge in the home of his abusive and unstable mother, his brother Frankie goes to investigate and finds himself caught in the confusing currents of revenge and longing. Writer, director and actor Sam Shepard's playwriting credits include the Pulitzer Prize-winning 'Buried Child,' which won the 1986 Tony Award. His other plays include 'Curse of the Starving Class' and 'True West' (Pulitzer Prize nominee, Tony Award). A Lie of the Mind opened at the Promenade Theater in 1985 and won Drama Desk, Outer Critics Circle and New York Drama Critics' Circle Awards. This marks the first New York revival of the play. Ethan Hawke's directing credits include: Jonathan Marc Sherman's 'Things We Want' at The New Group (2007-08 season), Lisa Loeb's "Stay" music video (1994), and the films Straight to One (1994), Chelsea Walls (2001) and The Hottest State (2006). In 1992, Hawke co-founded Malaparte Theatre Company (nonprofit theater company in NYC), where he is Artistic Director.

Originally published on