2010 Obie Award winners


The winners of the 55th Annual Obie Awards were announced on 17 May 2010 at a ceremony held at Webster Hall in Manhattan. The Obie's have been honoring the Off-Broadway community since 1956 and are considered Off-Broadway's highest honor.


The event was co-hosted by Michael Cerveris and former OBIE winner Anika Noni Rose, and the awards were presented by J. Smith Cameron, Marin Ireland, Linda Lavin, Hamish Linklater, Michael Shannon, and Jennifer Westfeldt

The judging panal was chaired by Village Voice Theatre Critic and Obie Chairperson Michael Feingold. His fellow judges included Andy Propst, Kristin Marting, Ralph B. Pena and Martha Plimpton.

The winners of the 2010 Obie Awards are:
There are no nominations or categories for the Obies.

The Sustained Achievement Award

  • David Greenspan

Best New American Play (includes a $1000 prize)

  • Annie Baker: for 'Circle Mirror Transformation' and 'The Aliens'


  • Ensemble: Circle Mirror Transformation (Playwrights Horizons)
    (Ensemble: Reed Birney, Tracee Chimo, Peter Friedman, Deirdre O'Connell, Heidi Schreck)
  • Dane DeHaan: The Aliens (Rattlestick Playwrights Theater)
  • Jonathan Hammond: The Boys In The Band (Transport Group)
  • Marc Damon Johnson: The Brother/Sister Plays (Public Theater)
  • Laurie Metcalf: A Lie of the Mind (The New Group)
  • Wendell Pierce: (Sustained excellence of performance)
  • Juliet Rylance: As You Like It (Bridge Project/BAM)
  • Rocco Sisto: (Sustained excellence of performance)


  • Enda Walsh: The New Electric Ballroom


  • David Cromer: Sam Gold ('Circle Mirror Transformation' & 'The Aliens')
  • Pam MacKinnon: Clybourne Park

Design / Music

  • Steven Dufala and Billy Blaise Dufala: (Design) Machines Machines Machines Machines Machines Machines Machines
  • Stephin Merritt: (Music & lyrics) Coraline
  • Tyler Micoleau: Sustained excellence of lighting design
  • Neil Murray: (Sets and costumes) Brief Encounter
  • Malcolm Rippeth: (Lighting) Brief Encounter
  • Gemma Carrington and Jon Driscoll: (Projection design) Brief Encounter

Special Citations

  • Ariane Mnouchkine & Théâtre du Soleil: Ariane Mnouchkine & Théâtre du Soleil
  • Taylor Mac: The Lily's Revenge
  • The Ohio Theatre
  • Hoi Polloi (Alec Duffy, Dave Malloy, and Rick Burkhardt) and Rachel Chavkin: Three Pianos
  • Philippe Quesne and Gaëtan Vourc'h: L'Effet de Serge
  • Chris Wells: The Secret City

The Ross Wetzsteon Award ($1,000 prize)

  • Foundry Theatre

OBIE Grants

  • Harlem School of the Arts
  • Ontological Incubator
  • Vampire Cowboys

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy