The Heiress: David Strathairn to join cast

Academy Award nominee and Emmy Award winner David Strathairn (Dr. Austin Sloper) will join the previously announced Jessica Chastain (Catherine Sloper) - making her Broadway debut - in the Tony Award winning play The Heiress, written by Ruth and Augustus Goetz.

In 2006 Strathairn earned nominations from the Academy, Golden Globe and BAFTA Awards for his portrait of CBS news broadcaster Edward R. Murrow in George Clooney’s Oscar-nominated film 'Good Night, and Good Luck.' He won an Emmy in 2010 for Best Supporting Actor in the HBO project, 'Temple Grandin.' Strathairn has previously starred on Broadway in 'Salome,' 'Dance of Death,' 'The Three Sisters' and 'Einstein and the Polar Bear.'

Directed by Moisés Kaufman, The Heiress will open in the fall of 2012 at a theatre to be announced.

The Heiress, adapted from the 1880 Henry James novel, "Washington Square," tells the story of 'Catherine Sloper' (Jessica Chastain), a young naive woman who falls for a handsome young man who her emotionally abusive father (David Strathairn) suspects is a fortune hunter.

The revival will be produced by Paula Wagner, Roy Furman and Stephanie P. McClelland.

The 1947 Broadway premiere of The Heiress was directed by Jed Harris, and starred Wendy Hiller as 'Catherine Sloper,' Peter Cookson as 'Morris Townsend' and Basil Rathbone as 'Dr. Austin Sloper.'

The play has been revived on Broadway three times. The last revival was in 1995, directed by Gerald Gutierrez, it starred Cherry Jones as 'Catherine Sloper,' Jon Tenney as 'Morris Townsend' and 'Philip Bosco' as 'Dr. Austin Sloper.' The production was nominated for seven 1995 Tony Awards, and won four: Best Revival; Best Director (Gerald Gutierrez); Best Actress (Cherry Jones); and Best Featured Actress (Frances Sternhagen as 'Lavinia Penniman').

The 1949 Academy Award winning movie version was adapted from the play by the Goetzes, and was directed by William Wyler, starring Olivia de Havilland as 'Catherine Sloper,' Montgomery Clift as 'Morris Townsend' and Ralph Richardson as 'Dr. Austin Sloper.' Olivia de Havilland won the 1949 Academy Award for Best Actress, and the film was nominated for the 1949 Academy Award for Best Picture.