Public Theater announces complete cast of Mlima's Tale

Fela! stars Sahr Ngaujah & Kevin Mambo have been cast in Lynn Nottage's world premiere play Mlima's Tale

Sahr Ngaujah & Kevin Mambo

The Public Theater has announced complete casting for the upcoming world premiere of two-time Pulitzer Prize winner Lynn Nottage's new play Mlima's Tale, which is set to officially open at the Public's Martinson Hall on April 15, 2018, following previews from March 27, and will play through to May 20, 2018.

The complete cast of Mlima's Tale includes Tony Award nominee Sahr Ngaujah (as Mlima), Kevin Mambo (as Player 1), Jojo Gonzalez (as Player 2), and Ito Aghayere (as Player 3). Mr. Ngaujah and Mr. Mambo both played the leading role of Fela Anikulapo-Kuti in the 2009 Broadway musical Fela! Mr. Mambo is also a two-time Daytime Emmy Award winner for his role as Marcus Williams on "The Guiding Light". Mr. Gonzalez is perhaps best known for his off-Broadway appearances in Small Mouth Sounds, whilst Ms. Aghayere recently made her Broadway debut in Lincoln Center Theater's Junk.

Synopsis: "Taking us on a journey from the heart of Africa and around the world, Mlima's Tale is the story of Mlima, a magnificent elephant trapped in the clandestine international ivory market. Following a trail of greed and desire as old as trade itself, Mlima leads us through memory and fear, history and tradition, want and need, and reveals the surprising and complicated deals that connect us all."

Under the direction of Jo Bonney, the creative team features scenic design by Riccardo Hernandez, costume design by Jennifer Moeller, lighting design by Lap Chi Chu, sound design by Darron L West, original music by Justin Hicks and movement direction by Chris Walker.

Acclaimed playwright Lynn Nottage made history last year by becoming the first woman to ever be awarded two Pulitzer Prizes for Drama. She won her first prize for Ruined in 2009 and was awarded her second last year for Sweat.

Mlima's Tale Tickets are available now for performances through to May 20, 2018.