This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Everyday Rapure: Second Stage Theatre announces full cast

Second Stage Theatre will present Everyday Rapure, written by Dick Scanlan and Sherie Rene Scott, directed by Michael Mayer, opening at Second Stage Theatre on 3 May 2009, following previews from 7 Apr and running through to 23 May 2009.

Everyday Rapure is the story of a young woman's psycho-sexual-spiritual journey on the rocky path that separates her mostly Mennonite past from her mostly Manhattan future. Her life takes her from the cornfields of Kansas to the clover fields of New York (with a disturbing detour through YouTube). Everyday Rapure also features songs made famous by David Byrne, U2, Roberta Flack, The Dap Kings and Judy Garland.

In addition to the previously announced Sherie Rene Scott, Everyday Rapure will feature Eamon Foley, Lindsey Mendez and Betsy Wolfe.

Everyday Rapure will feature scenic design by Christine Jones, costume design by Tom Broecker, lighting design by Kevin Adams, and sound design by Brian Ronan. Musical Staging will be by Michele Lynch, orchestrations by Tom Kitt, and musical direction by Carmel Dean.

Sherie Rene Scott (Performer, Co-Author) was nominated for a Tony Award for her performance as 'Christine' in 'Dirty Rotten Scoundrels.' She recently starred on Broadway as 'Ursula' in 'The Little Mermaid.' Other Broadway credits are 'The Who's Tommy' (1993), 'Grease' (1994), 'Rent' (1996) and 'Aida' (2000).

Eamon Foley has appeared on Broadway in '13' (2008), 'How the Grinch Stole Christmas' (2006 & 2007), 'Assassins' 2004) and 'Gypsy' (2003).

Lindsay Mendez was an original cast member of the recent Broadway revival of 'Grease' (2007) playing the role of 'Jan.'

Betsy Wolfe has appeared on Broadway in '110 in the Shade' (2007 revival) and 'A Wonderful Life' (2005).

Dick Scanlan (Co-Author) was nominated for a Tony award for his book and lyrics for the Tony Award-winning Best Musical 'Thoroughly Modern Millie' (2002).

Michael Mayer (Director) received a 2007 Tony Award for his direction of the Tony Award-winning Best Musical 'Spring Awakening' and has been nominated for Tonys for his helmship of 'Thoroughly Modern Millie' (2002), 'You're a Good Man, Charlie Brown' (1999) and 'A View From the Bridge' (1997 revival).

Originally published on