Drama Desk Awards

Date confirmed for 65th Annual Drama Desk Awards

The Drama Desk Awards ceremony will return to The Town Hall in New York City on Sunday, May 31, 2020.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Broadway Brands and the Drama Desk announced today that The 65th Annual Drama Desk Awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, May 31, 2020 at The Town Hall. Nominations for these awards will be revealed on Tuesday, April 21, 2020 (with the cut-off date for eligibility as April 23).

Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics' organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

Previous Drama Desk Award winners include the likes of Lin-Manuel Miranda, Bernadette Peters, Cynthia Erivo, Nathan Lane, Kevin Kline, Laura Linney, Bette Midler, Danny DeVito, Cynthia Nixon, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Dustin Hoffman, Al Pacino, and Helen Mirren.

The 2019 winners included The Ferryman ("Outstanding Play"), The Prom ("Outstanding Musical"), The Waverly Gallery ("Outstanding Revival of a Play"), and Fiddler on the Roof in Yiddish ("Outstanding Revival of a Musical"). Awards also went to Elaine MaySantino FontanaStephanie J. BlockCelia Keenan-BolgerAndré De Shields, and Ali Stroker, among others.


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy