This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

Drama Desk Awards

Date confirmed for 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards

The Drama Desk Awards ceremony will return to The Town Hall in New York City on Sunday, June 2, 2019.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Broadway Brands and the Drama Desk announced today that The 64th Annual Drama Desk Awards ceremony will take place on Sunday, June 2, 2019 at 8pm at The Town Hall. Nominations for these awards will be revealed on Thursday, April 25 (with the cut-off date for eligibility as April 24).

The Drama Desk nominating committee is composed of Linda Buchwald (Chairperson), Peter Filichi, Helen Shaw, Jose Solis, Martha Wade Stekete, Zachary Stewart, Doug Strassler, and Charles Wright.

Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics' organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

Previous Drama Desk Award winners include the likes of Lin-Manuel Miranda, Bernadette Peters, Cynthia Erivo, Nathan Lane, Kevin Kline, Laura Linney, Bette Midler, Danny DeVito, Cynthia Nixon, Catherine Zeta-Jones, Dustin Hoffman, Al Pacino, and Helen Mirren.

Last year's winners included Andrew Garfield and Nathan Lane (for Angels in America), Glenda Jackson (for Edward Albee's Three Tall Women), Jessie Mueller and Lindsay Mendez (for Rodgers & Hammerstein's Carousel), and Mean Girls scribe Tina Fey, among others.

Originally published on