Alex Brightman & Sophia Anne Caruso in Beetlejuice

Beetlejuice, starring Alex Brightman, begins performances on Broadway

The Broadway premiere of Beetlejuice is scheduled for an official opening at the Winter Garden Theatre on April 25, 2019.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

It's Showtime, folks! The Broadway premiere of the new musical comedy Beetlejuice, based on the hugely popular 1988 Tim Burton film, begins previews at the Winter Garden Theatre tonight, ahead of an official opening on April 25.

Beetlejuice features an original score by Eddie Perfect and a book by Scott Brown and Emmy Award nominee Anthony King, inspired by Michael McDowell and Larry Wilson's original story. The production is directed by two-time Tony Award nominee Alex Timbers and choreographed by Connor Gallagher.

Synopsis: "The ghost-with-the-most makes his Broadway debut in this edgy and irreverent musical comedy based on Tim Burton's dearly beloved film. Beetlejuice tells the story of Lydia Deetz, a strange and unusual teenager whose whole life changes when she meets a recently deceased couple and a demon with a thing for stripes. When Lydia calls on Beetlejuice to scare away anyone with a pulse, this double-crossing specter shows his true stripes, unleashing a (Nether)world of pandemonium, and the biggest sandworm Broadway has ever seen."

The cast of Beetlejuice includes Tony Award nominee Alex Brightman (as Beetlejuice) and two-time Lucille Lortel Award nominee Sophia Anne Caruso (as Lydia), alongside Tony Award nominee Kerry Butler (as Barbara), Tony Award nominee Rob McClure (as Adam), Obie Award winner Adam Dannheisser (as Charles), two-time Drama Desk Award nominee Leslie Kritzer (as Delia), Jill Abramovitz (as Maxine Dean/Juno), Danny Rutigliano (as Maxie Dean), Kelvin Moon Loh (as Otho), with Dana Steingold (as the Girl Scout).

The ensemble features Tessa Alves, Gilbert L. Bailey II, Will Blum, Johnny Brantley III, Ryan Breslin, Natalie Charle Ellis, Brooke Engen, Abe Goldfarb, Eric Anthony Johnson, Elliott Mattox, Mateo Melendez, Sean Montgomery, Ramone Owens, Presley Ryan and Kim Sava.

The creative team also features musical direction by Kris Kukul, scenic design by two-time Tony Award nominee David Korins, costume design by six-time Tony Award winner William Ivey Long, lighting design by Tony Award winner Kenneth Posner, sound design by four-time Tony Award nominee Peter Hylenski, projection design by Drama Desk Award winner Peter Nigrini, puppet design by Drama Desk Award winner Michael Curry, special effects design by Jeremy Chernick, illusions by Michael Weber, hair & wig design by Charles G. LaPointe, make-up design by Joe Dulude, physical movement coordination by Lorenzo Pisoni, dance arrangements by David Dabbon, and music production by Matt Stine.

Directed by Tim Burton and released in March 1988, "Beetlejuice" earned over $73 million at the US box office and also picked up the Academy Award for "Best Make-up". The film's cast was led by Michael Keaton, Winona Ryder, Alec Baldwin, Geena Davis, Jeffrey Jones and Catherine O'Hara.

The world premiere of the musical adaptation was staged at the National Theatre in Washington D.C. from October 14 through to November 18, 2018, officially opening on November 4.

Beetlejuice is produced on Broadway by Warner Bros. Theatre Ventures and Langley Park Productions.

​Beetlejuice Tickets are available now for performances through to October 6, 2019.

(Photos by Matthew Murphy)

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy