Annie to play its final performance on 05 Jan 2014

The Broadway revival of Annie will play its final performance on 05 Jan 2014. When the show closes it will have played 487 regular performances and 38 previews.

Annie opened at the Palace Theatre on 08 Nov 2012, following previews from 03 Oct 2013.

The musical opened to excellent reviews: Simply a sweet, sweet show (newyorktheatreguide); Enjoyable (NYDN); There's a lot to love (NYP); Crisp, colorful, shiny-bright production loaded with theatrical energy (Record). The musical was nominated for a 2013 Tony Award for Best Revival of a Musical.

Directed by three-time Tony Award winner James Lapine ('The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee,' 'Passion,' 'Falsettos') and choreographed by Tony Award winner Andy Blankenbuehler (In the Heights), Annie features music by Charles Strouse, lyrics by Martin Charnin and book by Thomas Meehan, based on the newspaper character "Little Orphan Annie" by Harold Gray.

The musical tells the story of orphan Annie, a girl whose optimism knows no bounds. Annie lives in an orphanage looked after by the cruel Miss Hannigan, but her life changes when she is selected to spend time in the house of wealthy industrialist Oliver Warbucks.

The score for Annie includes "Maybe," "It's the Hard Knock Life," "You're Never Fully Dressed Without a Smile," "Easy Street," "I Don't Need Anything But You" and the eternal anthem of optimism, "Tomorrow".

The show currently stars Taylor Richardson and Sadie Sink who alternate the title role of Annie. Each young actress will also alternate the role of 'Duffy' when not starring as 'Annie.'

The principal cast also features Tony Award winner Faith Prince as 'Miss Hannigan,' Anthony Warlow as 'Daddy Warbucks,' Jenni Barber as 'Grace Farrell,' Clarke Thorell as 'Rooster Hannigan' and J. Elaine Marcos as 'Lily St. Regis.'

The Orphans are played by Amaya Braganza (July), Gaby Bradbury (Pepper), Tyrah Skye Odoms (Tessie), Emily Rosenfeld (Molly) and Brooklyn Shuck (Kate).

The design team includes scenic design by David Korins, costume design by Susan Hilferty, lighting design by Donald Holder and sound design by Brian Ronan.

The musical is produced on Broadway by Arielle Tepper Madover, Roger Horchow, Sally Horchow, Roger Berlind, Roy Furman, Debbie Bisno, Stacey Mindich, Nederlander Presentations, Inc., Daryl Roth/Jane Bergère and Eva Price/Christina Papagjika.

Taylor Richardson and Sadie Sink

Originally published on