Anna Deavere Smith & Tim Sanford

Anna Deavere Smith & Tim Sanford to be honored at Lucille Lortel Awards

The 35th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards will be presented on Sunday, May 3, 2020 at NYU Skirball Center.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Details have now been revealed for The 35th Annual Lucille Lortel Awards, the biggest night of the Off-Broadway calendar, which will be held on Sunday, May 3, 2020 at NYU Skirball Center.

Nominations for the awards are set to be announced on Thursday, April 2, 2020, following the official end of the Off-Broadway season on March 31.

The Off-Broadway League has now announced that Tim Sanford, who is scheduled to step down as Artistic Director of Playwrights Horizons in July of this year, will be honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award. He will be celebrated in recognition of his 24 years at the helm of the non-profit institution which has long been a cornerstone of the Off-Broadway theatre community.

In addition, Pulitzer Prize finalist and two-time Tony Award nominee Anna Deavere Smith is also set to be inducted onto the Playwrights' Sidewalk. The boundary-shattering writer and performer will have been represented Off-Broadway twice in this season alone, thanks to the Signature Theatre revivals of Fires in the Mirror and Twilight: Los Angeles, 1992 at Pershing Square Signature Center. Her most notable works also include Notes from the FieldLet Me Down Easy, and House Arrest.

Founded in 1986, the Lucille Lortel Awards are produced by the Off-Broadway League by special arrangement with the Lucille Lortel Theatre Foundation and supported by TDF.

(Tim Sanford photo by Zack DeZon)


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy