Katrina Lenk, Joshua Henry, John Legend, Lauren Ambrose & Hailey Kilgore

And the 2019 Grammy Nominations for "Best Musical Theater Album" are...

The 61st Annual Grammy Awards will be held on February 10, 2019, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Musical revivals rule at The 61st Annual Grammy Awards as four out of the five nominees for the "Best Musical Theater Album" category come from celebrated revivals of last season. The only original musical's Broadway Cast Recording to be nominated is the 10-time Tony Award-winning "Best Musical The Band's Visit, whilst the Broadway revivals of CarouselMy Fair Lady, and the Tony Award-winning "Best Revival of a Musical" Once on This Island all received nods, alongside NBC's Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concert.

Here is a list of all the principal soloists and producers for each Cast Recording:

    Etai Benson, Adam Kantor, Katrina Lenk & Ari'el Stachel, principal soloists; Dean Sharenow & David Yazbek, producers; David Yazbek, composer & lyricist (Original Broadway Cast)
    Renee Fleming, Alexander Gemignani, Joshua Henry, Lindsay Mendez & Jessie Mueller, principal soloists; Steven Epstein, producer (Richard Rodgers, composer; Oscar Hammerstein II, lyricist) (2018 Broadway Cast)
    Sara Bareilles, Alice Cooper, Ben Daniels, Brandon Victor Dixon, Erik Grönwall, Jin Ha, John Legend, Norm Lewis & Jason Tam, principal soloists; Harvey Mason, Jr., producer (Andrew Lloyd-Webber, composer; Tim Rice, lyricist) (Original Television Cast)
    Lauren Ambrose, Norbert Leo Butz & Harry Hadden-Paton, principal soloists; Andre Bishop, Van Dean, Hattie K. Jutagir, David Lai, Adam Siegel & Ted Sperling, producers (Frederick Loewe, composer; Alan Jay Lerner, lyricist) (2018 Broadway Cast)
    Phillip Boykin, Merle Dandridge, Quentin Earl Darrington, Hailey Kilgore, Kenita R. Miller, Alex Newell, Isaac Powell & Lea Salonga, principal soloists; Lynn Ahrens, Hunter Arnold, Ken Davenport, Stephen Flaherty & Elliot Scheiner, producers (Stephen Flaherty, composer; Lynn Ahrens, lyricist) (New Broadway Cast)

A special mention to friends of Broadway, who were also nominated for Grammy Awards this morning, including Barbra Streisand (for "Best Traditional Pop Vocal Album" for "The Music...The Mem'ries...The Magic!"), "The Greatest Showman(for "Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media"), Benj Pasek and Justin Paul (for "Best Song Written For Visual Media" for "This Is Me"), Lady Gaga and Tony Award nominee Bradley Cooper (for "Record of the Year," "Best Song Written For Visual Media," and "Best Pop Duo/Group Performance" for "Shallow" from "A Star Is Born"), and finally, Kristen Anderson-Lopez and Bobby Lopez (for "Best Song Written For Visual Media" for "Remember Me" from "Coco").

The 61st Annual Grammy Awards will be held on February 10, 2019 at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. So, who do you think will walk away with theatre industry's coveted award for "Best Musical Theater Album"?


The Band's Visit Tickets are available now for performances through to June 30, 2019.

My Fair Lady Tickets are available now for performances through to June 2, 2019.

Once on This Island Tickets are available now for performances through to January 6, 2019.


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy