61st Annual OBIE Awards will take place on 23 May 2016

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

The American Theatre Wing and The Village Voice, the nation's largest alternative weekly newspaper, have now announced that The 61st Annual OBIE Awards will take place on 23 May 2016 at Webster Hall in the East Village. OBIE award winner Lea DeLaria will host the ceremony, returning from her duties last year.

Ms DeLaria commented:

"I am thrilled to be invited back to host the Obies. It's the best party of the year, plus off-Broadway actresses are totally hot... and desperate."
The 2015-16 OBIE Awards judging panel includes OBIE Chairman and Village Voice columnist Michael Feingold, OBIE-winning actress Quincy Tyler Bernstine, OBIE-winning director Oliver Butler, OBIE-winning composer Ricky Ian Gordon, OBIE-winning costume designer Clint Ramos, OBIE-winning actress Juliet Rylance, and Variety senior critic Marilyn Stasio.

For the past 61 years the OBIE Awards have honored the best of Off-Broadway and Off-Off-Broadway. Structured with informal categories that change annually, The OBIE Awards recognize persons and productions of excellence. Unlike most theatre awards, the OBIE Awards have no nominations.

- by Tom Millward

Originally published on