2024 Lucille Lortel Award winners announced

Two shows now running on Broadway, Hell's Kitchen and Stereophonic, took home awards for their world-premiere Off-Broadway runs earlier this season.

Gillian Russo
Gillian Russo

Winners have been announced for the 2024 Lucille Lortel Awards, which honor the best of Off-Broadway theatre each year.

Two shows that began off Broadway earlier this season and are now running on Broadway — Alicia Keys's musical Hell's Kitchen and David Adjmi's '70s rock-inspired play Stereophonic — took home awards. Additionally, Justin Peck, who directed and choreographed the current Broadway show Illinoise, won a Lortel for choreographing a different musical, Buena Vista Social Club, with Patricia Delgado.

The musical (pray) won the most awards with three. In addition to the competitive awards, three honorary prizes were given: the Lifetime Achievement Award for performer/writer/director Ruben Santiago-Hudson, the Playwrights’ Sidewalk Inductee award for Dominique Morisseau, and the award for Outstanding Body of Work for the Off-Broadway theatre company Ars Nova.

Discover the full list of nominees and winners below. Winners are bolded and denoted with an asterisk.

Get Hell's Kitchen tickets now.

Book Tickets CTA - LT/NYTG

Get Stereophonic tickets now.

Book Tickets CTA - LT/NYTG

Outstanding Play

  • The Comeuppance*
  • Plays For The Plague Year
  • Primary Trust
  • Stereophonic
  • Wet Brain

Outstanding Musical

  • (pray)*
  • Buena Vista Social Club
  • Dead Outlaw
  • Hell's Kitchen
  • Teeth

Outstanding Revival

  • Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
  • I Can Get It for You Wholesale
  • Philadelphia, Here I Come!
  • Sunset Baby
  • Translations*

Outstanding Solo Show

  • All The Devils Are Here: How Shakespeare Invented the Villain*
  • I Love You So Much I Could Die
  • Make Me Gorgeous!
  • Sorry For Your Loss
  • Triple Threat

Outstanding Director

  • Daniel Aukin: Stereophonic
  • David Cromer: Dead Outlaw
  • nicHi douglas: (pray)*
  • Eric Ting: The Comeuppance
  • Dustin Wills: Wet Brain

Outstanding Choreographer

  • Camille A. Brown: Hell's Kitchen
  • Graciela Daniele and Alex Sanchez: The Gardens of Anuncia
  • Patricia Delgado and Justin Peck: Buena Vista Social Club*
  • nicHi douglas: (pray)
  • Raja Feather Kelly: Teeth

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Play

  • Christopher Abbott: Danny and the Deep Blue Sea
  • Gabby Beans: Jonah*
  • William Jackson Harper: Primary Trust
  • Nicole Ari Parker: The Refuge Plays
  • Josh Radnor: The Ally
  • A.J. Shively: Philadelphia, Here I Come!
  • Paco Tolson: The Knight of the Burning Pestle

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Play

  • Arnie Burton: Dracula, A Comedy of Terrors
  • Eli Gelb: Stereophonic*
  • Carmen M. Herlihy: The Apiary
  • Florencia Lozano: Wet Brain
  • Julio Monge: Wet Brain
  • Bubba Weiler: Swing State
  • Frank Wood: Toros

Outstanding Lead Performer in a Musical

  • Natalie Venetia Belcon: Buena Vista Social Club*
  • Jeb Brown: Dead Outlaw
  • Andrew Durand: Dead Outlaw
  • Santino Fontana: I Can Get It for You Wholesale
  • Priscilla Lopez: The Gardens of Anuncia
  • Alyse Alan Louis: Teeth
  • Maleah Joi Moon: Hell’s Kitchen

Outstanding Featured Performer in a Musical

  • Shoshana Bean: Hell's Kitchen
  • Rodrick Covington: Rock & Roll Man
  • Kecia Lewis: Hell’s Kitchen*
  • Jessica Molaskey: The Connector
  • Steven Pasquale: Teeth
  • Mel Semé: Buena Vista Social Club
  • Thom Sesma: Dead Outlaw

Outstanding Ensemble

  • (pray): Ariel Kayla Blackwood, S T A R R Busby, Ashely De La Rosa, Tina Fabrique, Satori Folkes-Stone, Amara Granderson, Taylor Symone Jackson, Ziiomi Louise Law, Aigner Mizzelle, Gayle Turner, Darnell White, D. Woods*
  • The Comeuppance: Brittany Bradford, Caleb Eberhardt, Susannah Flood, Bobby Moreno, Shannon Tyo
  • Flex: Brittany Bellizeare, Christiana Clark, Eboni Edwards, Renita Lewis, Erica Matthews, Ciara Monique, Tamera Tomakili

Outstanding Scenic Design

  • Jason Ardizzone-West: shadow/land
  • Arnulfo Maldonado: Buena Vista Social Club
  • Arnulfo Maldonado: Dead Outlaw
  • Kate Noll: Wet Brain*
  • David Zinn: Stereophonic

Outstanding Costume Design

  • Dede Ayite: Buena Vista Social Club
  • Enver Chakartash: Stereophonic
  • Linda Cho: The Half-God of Rainfall
  • DeShon Elem: (pray)
  • Lux Haac: Manahatta*

Outstanding Lighting Design

  • Amith Chandrashaker: The Comeuppance*
  • Jiyoun Chang: Stereophonic
  • Jen Schriever: Spain
  • Cha See: Wet Brain
  • John Torres: Danny and the Deep Blue Sea

Outstanding Sound Design

  • Tei Blow & John Gasper: Wet Brain
  • Jonathan Deans: Buena Vista Social Club
  • Palmer Hefferan: The Comeuppance
  • Ryan Rumery: Stereophonic*
  • Mikaal Sulaiman: (pray)

Outstanding Projection Design

  • 59 Productions: Corruption
  • Nick Hussong: Wet Brain*
  • Jared Mezzocchi: Poor Yella Rednecks
  • Jared Mezzocchi: Russian Troll Farm
  • Jeanette Oi-Suk Yew: The Connector

Photo credit: The cast of Stereophonic on Broadway. (Photo by Julieta Cervantes)

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy