2005 Outer Critics Circle Award winners announced

The winners of the 2005 Outer Critics Circle Awards where announed on Monday the 9th May.

Two shows won four nominations each: Doubt (winning Outstanding: Broadway Play, Actor in a Play, Actress in a Play and Director of a Play), and Monty Python's Spamalot (winning Outstanding: Broadway Musical, Actress in a Musical, Direction of a Musical and Costume Design).

Two other shows won two nominations each: La Cage Aux Folles (winning Outstanding: Revival of a Musical and Choreography) and The Light In The Piazza (winning Outstanding: Actress in a Musical and Light Design).

The John Gassner Award, presented for best American play, perferably by a new playwright, was won by Ron Hutchinson's Moonlight and Magnolias.

Majorie Gunner was named as the recipient of the Special Acheivement Award. Ms Gunner as been the president of the Outer Critics Circle for the past 25 years. Ms Gunner is now president emeritus and will continue to serve on the executive board and nominating committee.

The awards will be presented to the winners at a ceremony at Sardi's Restaurant on the Thu 26 May 2005.

The winners of the 2005 nominations by category are:
(Winners appear in bold)

Outstanding Broadway Play:

  • Brooklyn Boy; written by Donald Margulies
  • Democracy; written by Michael Frayn
  • Doubt; written by John Patrick Shanley
  • Gem of the Ocean; written by August Wilson
  • The Pillowman; written by Martin McDonagh

Outstanding Musical:

  • All Shook Up; Book by Joe DiPietro, Songs by Elvis Presley
  • Chitty Chitty Bang Bang; Book by Jeremy Sams, Music & Lyrics by Richard M. Sherman and Robert B. Sherman
  • Dirty Rotten Scoundrels; Book by Jeffrey Lane, with music & lyrics by David Yazbek
  • The Light in the Piazza; Book by Craig Lucas, music & lyrics by Adam Guettel
  • Monty Python's Spamalot; Book by Eric Idle, with music and lyrics by John Du Prez and Eric Idle

Outstanding Off-Broadway Play:
(This award is shared by two winners.)

  • Fat Pig; by Neil LaBute
  • Going to St. Ives; by Lee Blessing
  • Moonlight and Magnolias; by Ron Hutchinson
  • Romance; by David Mamet
  • String of Pearls; by Michele Lowe

Outstanding Off-Broadway Musical:

  • Altar Boyz; Book by Kevin Del Aguila, music by Gary Adler and Michael Patrick Walker, conceived by Marc Kessler and Ken Davenport
  • Dessa Rose; Book by Lynn Ahrens, music by Stephen Flaherty with lyrics by Lynn Ahrens
  • Lone Star Love; Music and lyrics by Jack Herrick, conceived and adapted from Shakespeare's 'Merry Wives Of Windsor' by librettist John L. Haber

Outstanding Revival of a Play:

  • Counsellor-at-Law; by Elmer Rice
  • Glengarry Glen Ross; by David Mamet
  • A Streetcar Named Desire; by Tennessee Williams
  • Twelve Angry Men; by Reginald Rose
  • Who�s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?; by Edward Albee

Outstanding Revival of a Musical:

  • La Cage aux Folles; Book by Harvey Fierstein, based on the play by Jean Poiret, with music and lyrics by Jerry Herman
  • Pacific Overtures; Music by Stephen Sondheim with lyrics by John Weidman
  • Shockheaded Peter
  • Sweet Charity; Book by Neil Simon, music by Cy Coleman and lyrics by Dorothy Fields

Outstanding Actor in a Play:

  • Alan Alda; Romance
  • Billy Crudup; The Pillowman
  • James Earl Jones; On Golden Pond
  • Br�an F. O'Byrne; Doubt
  • John Rubinstein; Counsellor-at-Law

Outstanding Actress in a Play:

  • L. Scott Caldwell; Going to St. Ives
  • Cherry Jones; Doubt
  • Laura Linney; Sight Unseen
  • Natasha Richardson; A Streetcar Named Desire
  • Kathleen Turner; Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Outstanding Actor in a Musical:

  • Norbert Leo Butz; Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
  • Tim Curry; Monty Python's Spamalot
  • Ra�l Esparza; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Cheyenne Jackson: All Shook Up
  • Denis O'Hare; Sweet Charity

Outstanding Actress in a Musical:

  • Victoria Clark; The Light in the Piazza
  • Erin Dilly; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Sutton Foster; Little Women the Musical
  • Jenn Gambatese; All Shook Up
  • Sherie Rene Scott; Dirty Rotten Scoundrels

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Play:

  • Chris Bauer; A Streetcar Named Desire
  • Philip Bosco; Twelve Angry Men
  • Larry Bryggman; Romance
  • Jeff Goldblum; The Pillowman
  • David Harbour; Who's Afraid of Virginia Woolf?

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Play:

  • Ashlie Atkinson; Fat Pig
  • Heather Goldenhersh; Doubt
  • Carla Gugino; After the Fall
  • Adriane Lenox; Doubt
  • Amy Ryan; A Streetcar Named Desire

Outstanding Featured Actor in a Musical:

  • Michael Berresse; The Light in the Piazza
  • Dan Fogler; The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
  • Mark Harelik; The Light in the Piazza
  • Marc Kudisch; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Matthew Morrison; The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Featured Actress in a Musical:

  • Sarah Uriarte Berry; The Light in the Piazza
  • Joanna Gleason; Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
  • Jan Maxwell; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Kelli O'Hara; The Light in the Piazza
  • Sara Ramirez; Monty Python's Spamalot

Outstanding Solo Performance:

  • Gareth Armstrong; Shylock
  • Mario Cantone; Laugh Whore
  • Billy Crystal; 700 Sundays
  • Heather Raffo; Nine Parts of Desire
  • Mercedes Ruehl; Woman Before a Glass

Outstanding Direction of a Play:

  • John Crowley; The Pillowman
  • Doug Hughes; Doubt
  • Joe Mantello; Glengarry Glen Ross
  • Anthony Page; Who�s Afraid of Virginia Woolf?
  • Dan Wackerman; Counsellor-at-Law

Outstanding Direction of a Musical:

  • Walter Bobbie; Sweet Charity
  • Mike Nichols; Monty Python's Spamalot
  • Adrian Noble; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Jack O'Brien; Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
  • Bartlett Sher; The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Choreography:

  • Wayne Cilento; Sweet Charity
  • Gillian Lynne; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Jerry Mitchell; La Cage aux Folles
  • Jerry Mitchell; Dirty Rotten Scoundrels
  • Casey Nicholaw; Monty Python's Spamalot

Outstanding Set Design:

  • Robert Brill; A Streetcar Named Desire
  • Tim Hatley; Monty Python�s Spamalot
  • Scott Pask; The Pillowman
  • Anthony Ward; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Michael Yeargan; The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Costume Design:

  • Tim Hatley; Monty Python's Spamalot
  • Junko Koshino; Pacific Overtures
  • William Ivey Long; La Cage aux Folles
  • Anthony Ward; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Catherine Zuber; The Light in the Piazza

Outstanding Lighting Design:

  • Christopher Akerlind; The Light in the Piazza
  • Mark Henderson; Chitty Chitty Bang Bang
  • Donald Holder; Gem of the Ocean
  • Brian MacDevitt; The Pillowman
  • Hugh Vanstone; Monty Python�s Spamalot

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy