2005 Lucille Lortel Award winners announced

The winners of the 2005 Lucille Lortel Awards where announed on the 2 May at Dodger's stages in an awards ceremony hosted by Bruce Vilanch and Julie Halston.

This is the 20th year of the awards which where founded in 1985 to celebrate excellence in Off-Broadway theatre.

The show that clearly made the deepest impression was John Patrick Shanley's Doubt, which won four awards: Outstanding Play, Outstanding Director (Doug Hughes), Outstanding Lead Actress (Cherry Jones) and Outstanding Featured Actress (Adriane Lenox).

Four other shows won two nominations each: The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee (Outstanding Musical and Outstanding Featured Actor), Nine Parts Of Desire (Outstanding Solo Show and Outstanding Sound Design), Counsellor-At-Law (Outstanding Revival and Outstanding Lead Actor), and Intimate Apparel (Outstanding Scenic Design and Outstanding Costume Design).

The Edith Oliver Award for Sustained Excellence was presented to Frances Sternhagen. Ms Sternhagen is currently appearing on Broadway in Robert Harling's 'Steel Magnolias' playing at the Lyceum Theatre.

The award for Outstanding Body of Work was presented to The Irish Repertory Theatre. The Irish Repertory Theatre are currently presenting Olivier Goldsmith's 'She Stoops To Conquer', which is performing through to the 26 Jun 2005.

The winners of the 2005 nominations by category are:
(Winners appear in bold)

Outstanding Play:

  • After Ashley; written by Gina Gionfriddo, produced by The Vineyard Theatre.
  • Doubt; written by John Patrick Shanley; produced by Manhattan Theatre Club
  • Going to St. Ives; written by Lee Blessing; produced by Primary Stages
  • Intimate Apparel; written by Lynn Nottage; produced by Roundabout Theatre Company
  • Orson�s Shadow; written by Austin Pendleton; produced by PlanetEarth Partners and Scott Morfee

Outstanding Musical:

  • Altar Boyz; Book by Kevin Del Aguila, Music & Lyrics by Gary Adler and Michael Patrick Walker, Conceived by Ken Davenport & Marc Kessler; produced by Ken Davenport and Robyn Goodman, in association with Walt Grossman, Ruth Hendel, Sharon Karmazin, Matt Murphy and Mark Shacket
  • Junie B. Jones; Book and Lyrics by Marcy Heisler, Music by Zina Goldrich; produced by TheatreworksUSA
  • Lone Star Love; Conceived and Adapted by John L. Haber, Music and Lyrics by Jack Herrick; produced by Amas Musical Theatre
  • The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee; Music and Lyrics by William Finn, Book by Rachel Sheinkin, Conceived by Rebecca Feldman; produced by Second Stage Theatre

Outstanding Solo Show:

  • Nine Parts of Desire; Starring and Written by Heather Raffo; produced by Manhattan Ensemble Theater
  • The Two and Only; Starring and Written by Jay Johnson;produced by Atlantic Theater Company in association with Roger Alan Gindi, Stewart F. Lane & Bonnie Conley, Dan Whitten, Herbert Goldsmith Productions, WetRock Entertainment

Outstanding Revival:

  • Counsellor-At-Law; written by Elmer Rice; produced by Peccadillo Theatre Company
  • Engaged; written by W. S. Gilbert; produced by Theatre for A New Audience
  • Finian�s Rainbow; Book by E.Y. Harburg and Fred Saidy, Music by Burton Lane, Lyrics by E.Y. Harburg Produced by Irish Repertory Theatre; produced by Irish Repertory Theatre
  • Hedda Gabler; written by Henrik Ibsen, Translation by Christopher Hampton; produced by New York Theatre Workshop
  • Hurlyburly; written by David Rabe; produced by The New Group

Outstanding Director:

  • Jo Bonney; Fat Pig
  • Scott Elliott; Hurlyburly
  • Doug Hughes; Doubt
  • James Lapine; The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
  • Daniel Sullivan; Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Choreographer:

  • Christopher Gattelli; Altar Boyz
  • Devanand Janki; Junie B. Jones
  • Dan Knechtgesv; The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
  • Barry McNabb; Finian�s Rainbow
  • Randy Skinner; Lone Star Love

Outstanding Lead Actor:

  • Ethan Hawke; Hurlyburly
  • Br�an F. O�Byrne; Doubt
  • John Rubinstein; Counsellor-At-Law
  • Jeffrey Wright; This Is How It Goes

Outstanding Lead Actress:

  • Ashlie Atkinson; Fat Pig
  • Viola Davis; Intimate Apparel
  • Cherry Jones; Doubt
  • Judy Kaye; Souvenir
  • Elizabeth Marvel; Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Featured Actor:

  • Kevin Cahoon; The Foreigner
  • Dan Fogler; The 25th Annual Putnam County Spelling Bee
  • Josh Hamilton; Hurlyburly
  • Logan Marshall-Green: The Distance From Here
  • Tyler Maynard; Altar Boyz

Outstanding Featured Actress:
(This award was shared by three winners.)

  • Jenn Harris; Modern Orthodox
  • Adriane Lenox; Doubt
  • Alison Pill; On the Mountain
  • Parker Posey; Hurlyburly
  • Jennifer Simard; Forbidden Broadway: SVU

Outstanding Scenic Design:

  • Julian Crouch & Graeme Gilmour; Shockheaded Peter
  • Antje Ellermann; Nine Parts of Desire
  • Derek McLane; Intimate Apparel
  • Neil Patel; Between Us
  • Jan Versweyved; Hedda Gabler

Outstanding Costume Design:

  • Alvin Colt; Forbidden Broadway: SVU
  • Anna Hannikainen; Slava�s Snowshow
  • Kevin Pollard; Shockheaded Peter
  • Anita Yavich; Svejk
  • Catherine Zuber; Intimate Apparel

Outstanding Lighting Design:

  • Christopher Akerlind; Belle Epoque
  • Jules Fisher & Peggy Eisenhauer; Dessa Rose
  • Jon Linstrum; Shockheaded Peter
  • James Vermeulen; Mr. Fox: A Rumination
  • David Weiner; Rodney�s Wife

Outstanding Sound Design:

  • Obadiah Eaves; Nine Parts of Desire
  • Scott Lehrer; Dessa Rose
  • Simon Matthews; Altar Boyz
  • Darron L. West; Hot �n� Throbbing
  • Darron L. West; The Last Days of Judas Iscariot

Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy