War Horse: 16 new cast members from 12 Jan 2012

The Lincoln Center have announced that the National Theatre's production of Nick Stafford’s adaptation of Michael Morpurgo’s book, War Horse, will welcome sixteen new cast members in the new year.

Andrew Durand (Albert Narracott), David Lansbury (Hauptmann Müller), David Manis (Arthur Narracott), Andy Murray (Ted Narracott), Harlan Bengel, Toby Billowitz, Lute Breuer, Hunter Canning, Anthony Cochrane, Ben Horner, Leah Hofmann, Tessa Klein, Nat McIntyre, Geoffrey Murphy, Tommy Schrider and Jack Spann will join the 37 member acting company on 12 Jan 2012.

The new cast members will join Stephen James Anthony (Billy Narracott), Sanjit de Silva (Lt. James Nicholls), Alyssa Bresnahan, Richard Crawford, Joel Reuben Ganz, Ben Graney, Alex Hoeffler, Brian Lee Huynh, Jeslyn Kelly, Tom Lee, Jonathan Christopher MacMillan, Jonathan David Martin, David Pegram, Kate Pfaffl, Leenya Rideout, Jude Sandy, Hannah Sloat, Elliot Villar, Enrico D. Wey, Isaac Woofter and Madeleine Rose Yen.

Departing the company on 8 Jan 2012 are Matt Doyle (Billy Narracott), Peter Hermann (Hauptmann Müller), Seth Numrich (Albert Narracott), Stephen Plunkett (Lt. James Nicholls), T. Ryder Smith (Arthur Narracott), Zach Appelman, Austin Durant, Joby Earle, Ariel Heller, Ian Lassiter, Boris McGiver (Ted Narracott), Prentice Onayemi, Bhavesh Patel, Liam Robinson, Zach Villa and Cat Walleck.

War Horse opened at the Vivian Beaumont Theater on 14 Apr 2010, following previews from 17 Mar 2012.

The show opened on Broadway to excellent reviews: Runs full gallop with theatrical magic (NY Daily News); The great spectacle of the season (Bloomberg); Emotionally stirring, visually arresting and compellingly told (Hollywood Reporter).

War Horse: At the outbreak of World War One, Joey, young Albert’s beloved horse, is sold to the cavalry and shipped to France. He’s soon caught up in enemy fire, and fate takes him on an extraordinary odyssey, serving on both sides before finding himself alone in no man’s land. But Albert cannot forget Joey and, still not old enough to enlist, he embarks on a mission to find him and bring him home.

The play won five Tony Awards including Best Play, Best Direction, (Marianne Elliott & Tom Morris), Best Scenic Design, Best Lighting and Best Sound, with a special Tony Award to the Handspring Puppet Company for their work in creating the show's puppet horses.

War Horse premiered at the National Theatre in Nov 2007, directed by Marianne Elliott and Tom Morris and in association with Handspring Puppet Company.

After two sold-out runs at the National War Horse moved to London’s West End in Mar 2009 where it continues to play to capacity houses at the New London Theatre.

The American premiere, which reunites the production’s acclaimed London design team, features scenic design by Rae Smith, puppetry by Basil Jones and Adrian Kohler for Handspring, lighting by Paule Constable, movement and horse choreography by Toby Sedgwick, video by Leo Warner and Mark Grimmer, music by Adrian Sutton, songs by John Tams, and sound design by Christopher Shutt.

Seth Numrich in War Horse