The House That Will Not Stand extends at New York Theatre Workshop

The New York premiere of The House That Will Not Stand will now play its final performance on August 19, 2018.

Juliana Canfield, Harriett D. Foy & Joniece Abbott-Pratt in The House That Will Not Stand

New York Theatre Workshop has announced a 1-week extension for its current New York premiere of The House That Will Not Stand, written by Marcus Gardley and directed by Obie Award winner Lileana Blain-Cruz, which began previews at the off-Broadway venue on July 11, 2018, and officially opened on July 30, and now plays a limited engagement through to August 19, 2018 (instead of August 12).

Synopsis: "Inspired by Federico García Lorca's The House of Bernarda AlbaThe House That Will Not Stand is set in the heat of summer in 1813, as Louisiana is passed from France to the US. On the eve of the transfer, freedom hangs in the balance for a steely widow and her three eligible daughters, all free women of color."

The cast includes Joniece Abbott-Pratt (as Odette Albans), Juliana Canfield (as Maude Lynn Albans), Harriett D. Foy (as Makeda), Lynda Gravátt (as Beartrice Albans), Nedra McClyde (as Agnès Albans), Marie Thomas (as La Veuve), and Tony Award nominee Michelle Wilson (as Marie Josephine).

The creative team for The House That Will Not Stand has also been confirmed and features scenic design by Adam Rigg, costume design by Montana Levi Blanco, lighting design by Yi Zhao, sound design & original music by Justin Ellington, movement by Raja Feather Kelly, and dialect & vocal coaching by Dawn-Elin Fraser.

(Photo by Joan Marcus)