The Band's Visit wins at the 2019 Grammy Awards

The hit Broadway musical picks up the Grammy for "Best Musical Theater Album"...

Tony Shalhoub in The Band's Visit

Last night The 61st Annual Grammy Awards were held at the Staples Center in Los Angeles and it was good news for the 10-time Tony Award-winning "Best Musical" The Band's Visit, as the production added yet another trophy to its overcrowded mantelpiece. The Broadway cast recording fought off stiff competition from three acclaimed Broadway revivals (CarouselMy Fair Lady, and the Tony Award-winning "Best Revival of a Musical" Once on This Island) as well as NBC's Jesus Christ Superstar Live in Concertto take home the Grammy Award for "Best Musical Theater Album." Congratulations to the album's listed principal soloists, Tony Award winner Katrina Lenk, Tony Award winner Ari'el Stachel, Etai Benson, and Adam Kantor, producer Dean Sharenow, and of course, composer/lyricist/producer David Yazbeck!

The other nominated individuals for each cast recording were as follows:

    Renee Fleming, Alexander Gemignani, Joshua Henry, Lindsay Mendez & Jessie Mueller, principal soloists; Steven Epstein, producer (Richard Rodgers, composer; Oscar Hammerstein II, lyricist) (2018 Broadway Cast)
    Sara Bareilles, Alice Cooper, Ben Daniels, Brandon Victor Dixon, Erik Grönwall, Jin Ha, John Legend, Norm Lewis & Jason Tam, principal soloists; Harvey Mason, Jr., producer (Andrew Lloyd-Webber, composer; Tim Rice, lyricist) (Original Television Cast)
    Lauren Ambrose, Norbert Leo Butz & Harry Hadden-Paton, principal soloists; Andre Bishop, Van Dean, Hattie K. Jutagir, David Lai, Adam Siegel & Ted Sperling, producers (Frederick Loewe, composer; Alan Jay Lerner, lyricist) (2018 Broadway Cast)
    Phillip Boykin, Merle Dandridge, Quentin Earl Darrington, Hailey Kilgore, Kenita R. Miller, Alex Newell, Isaac Powell & Lea Salonga, principal soloists; Lynn Ahrens, Hunter Arnold, Ken Davenport, Stephen Flaherty & Elliot Scheiner, producers (Stephen Flaherty, composer; Lynn Ahrens, lyricist) (New Broadway Cast)

A special mention also goes to Tony Award winner Hugh Jackman, who won his first-ever Grammy Award last night. Alongside Tony Award winners Benj Pasek and Justin Paul and three-time Tony Award winner Alex Lacamoire, Mr. Jackman took home a Grammy in the category of "Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media" for "The Greatest Showman."

In addition, Tony Award nominee Bradley Cooper and 9-time Grammy Award winner Lady Gaga's hit song "Shallow" from "A Star Is Born" scooped two Grammy Awards last night - in the categories of "Best Song Written For Visual Media" and "Best Pop Duo/Group Performance."

The Band's Visit Tickets are available now for performances through to April 7, 2019.

(Photo by Matthew Murphy)