New York Theatre Workshop announces the cast of The House That Will Not Stand

The New York premiere of The House That Will Not Stand begins performances at New York Theatre Workshop on July 11, 2018.

Michelle Wilson, Joniece Abbott-Pratt & Harriett D. Foy

New York Theatre Workshop has now revealed complete casting for its upcoming New York premiere of The House That Will Not Stand, written by Marcus Gardley and directed by Obie Award winner Lileana Blain-Cruz.

The cast includes Joniece Abbott-Pratt (as Odette Albans), Juliana Canfield (as Maude Lynn Albans), Harriett D. Foy (as Makeda), Lynda Gravátt (as Beartrice Albans), Nedra McClyde (as Agnès Albans), Marie Thomas (as La Veuve), and Tony Award nominee Michelle Wilson (as Marie Josephine).

The House That Will Not Stand is set to begin previews at New York Theatre Workshop on July 11, 2018, ahead of an official opening on July 30 and a limited engagement through to August 12, 2018.

Synopsis: "Inspired by Federico García Lorca's The House of Bernarda AlbaThe House That Will Not Stand is set in the heat of summer in 1813, as Louisiana is passed from France to the US. On the eve of the transfer, freedom hangs in the balance for a steely widow and her three eligible daughters, all free women of color."

The creative team for The House That Will Not Stand has also been confirmed and features scenic design by Adam Rigg, costume design by Montana Levi Blanco, lighting design by Yi Zhao, sound design & original music by Justin Ellington, movement by Raja Feather Kelly, and dialect & vocal coaching by Dawn-Elin Fraser.