Sam Shepard

Signature Theatre announces cast of Curse of the Starving Class by Sam Shepard

The Signature Theatre production begins performances at Pershing Square Signature Center on April 23, 2019.

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Signature Theatre has now announced the cast and creative team for the upcoming production of Curse of the Starving Class, written by Pulitzer Prize winner Sam Shepard and directed by Tony Award nominee Terry Kinney, which is set to begin previews on the Irene Diamond Stage at Pershing Square Signature Center on April 23, 2019, ahead of an official opening on May 13 and a limited engagement through to May 26, 2019.

The cast includes Lizzy DeClement (as Emma), Flora Diaz (as Sergeant Malcolm), Gilles Geary (as Wesley), Esau Pritchett (as Ellis), Andy Rothenberg (as Taylor), Maggie Siff (as Ella), and David Warshofsky (as Weston).

Synopsis: "Living a stagnant, unhappy existence in rural California, the struggling Tate family is desperate for change, but every family member has a different way of trying to improve their station in life."

The creative team features choreography by Peter Pucci, scenic design by Julian Crouch, costume design by Sarah J. Holden, lighting design by Natasha Katz, and sound design & original music by Rob Milburn & Michael Bodeen. Animal actors for the production are provided by William Berloni.


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

  • Get early access to Broadway's newest shows
  • Access to exclusive deals and promotions
  • Stay in the know about top shows and news on Broadway
  • Get updates on shows that are important to you

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy