Disney's Frozen will begin previews on February 22, 2018

Tom Millward
Tom Millward

Disney Theatrical Productions has announced that the upcoming stage adaptation of Disney's Academy Award-winning movie Frozen will begin previews at Broadway's St. James Theatre on February 22, 2018. An official opening is expected in mid-March 2018.

The pre-Broadway world premiere engagement will play Denver's Buell Theatre from August 17 through to October 1, 2017.

Frozen features a book by the film's writer and co-director Jennifer Lee, along with music and lyrics by Robert Lopez and Kristen Anderson-Lopez, who also penned the film's soundtrack.

Synopsis: "Inspired by Hans Christian Andersen's fairy tale The Snow Queen, the musical tells the story of fearless princess Anna who sets off on an epic journey alongside a rugged iceman, his loyal pet reindeer, and a naïve snowman to find her estranged sister Elsa, whose icy powers have inadvertently trapped the kingdom in eternal winter."

The cast of Frozen includes Caissie Levy (as Elsa), Patti Murin (as Anna), Jelani Alladin (as Kristoff), Greg Hildreth (as Olaf), John Riddle (as Hans) and Robert Creighton (as Duke of Weselton), will be Kevin Del Aguila (as Oaken), Timothy Hughes (as Pabbie), Andrew Pirozzi (as Sven), Audrey Bennett and Mattea Conforti (alternating as Young Anna), and Brooklyn Nelson and Ayla Schwartz (alternating as Young Elsa). Alyssa Fox will act as standby for Elsa, with Aisha Jackson as standby for Anna.

Ensemble members include Alicia Albright, Tracee Beazer, Wendi Bergamini, Ashley Blanchet, James Brown III, Claire Camp, Lauren Nicole Chapman, Spencer Clark, Jeremy Davis, Kali Grinder, Ashley Elizabeth Hale, Zach Hess, Donald Jones, Jr., Nina Lafarga, Ross Lekites, Austin Lesch, Synthia Link, Travis Patton, Adam Perry, Jeff Pew, Olivia Phillip, Noah J. Ricketts, Ann Sanders, Jacob Smith and Nicholas Ward.

Tony winner Michael Grandage directs the musical, which also features choreography by Tony winner Rob Ashford, set and costume design by two-time Tony winner Christopher Oram, lighting design by five-time Tony winner Natasha Katz, sound design by four-time Tony nominee Peter Hylenski, music supervision and vocal & incidental arrangements by two-time Tony winner Stephen Oremus, orchestrations by Dave Metzger, music consultation by Chris Montan, music direction by Brian Usifer, video design by Tony winner Finn Ross, puppet design by Michael Curry, hair design by David Brian Brown, makeup design by Anne Ford-Coates and special effects design by Jeremy Chernick.

The 2013 animated film picked up two Academy Awards at the 2014 ceremony: "Best Animated Feature Film" and "Best Original Song" (for "Let It Go.").

The film's soundtrack also features popular songs such as "For the First Time in Forever," "Love Is an Open Door" and "Do You Want to Build a Snowman?," amongst others.


Originally published on

Subscribe to our newsletter to unlock exclusive New York theatre updates!

Special offers, reviews and release dates for the best shows in town.

You can unsubscribe at any time. Privacy Policy