This website uses cookies. If you continue to use the site, your agreement will result in cookies being set.

August: Osage County: Johanna Day, Michael Milligan, Dee Pelletier and Scott Jaeck all join the cast

Johanna Day, Michael Milligan, Dee Pelletier and Scott Jaeck all join the cast of Tracy Letts' comic-drama August: Osage County, winner of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize for Drama, on 14 Oct 2008.

Day assumes the role of 'Barbara Fordham' from original cast member Amy Morton. Day made her Broadway debut playing 'Claire' in 'Proof' (2000) for which she was nominated for a Tony Award for Best Featured Actress in a Play.

Milligan assumes the role of 'Little Charles' from Jim True-Frost. Making his Broadway debut, Milligan has previously appeared Off-Broadway in 'Thom Pain' and 'The Golem.'

Pelletier assumes the role of 'Ivy Weston' from original cast member Sally Murphy. Pelletier, who is making her Broadway debut, previously understudied the roles of 'Barbara Fordham,' 'Ivy Weston' and 'Karen Weston.'

Jaeck assumes the role of 'Sherrif Deon Gilbeau' from original cast member Troy West. Jaeck made his Broadway debut as 'Hank' in 'The Night of the Iguana' (1996 revival).

August: Osage County, currently selling tickets through to 22 Mar 2009, transferred to the Music Box Theatre on 29 Apr 2008 from the Imperial Theatre. The show played its final performance at the Imperial Theatre on 20 Apr 2008, where it opened on 4 Dec 2007, following previews from 30 Oct 2007.

The play opened to excellent reviews: 'Letts...knows just how to put the "fun" back into "dysfunctional.' (New York Theatre Guide), 'The most exciting new American play Broadway has seen in years.' (New York Times); "You're laughing hysterically one minute and appalled the next as the 3 1/2 -hour play flies by" (New York Daily News); "It's enormously entertaining." (New York Post); "Ripping, riveting new play." (NewsDay); "One big, fat, juicy whopper." (Star-Ledger); "Most exciting new plays in years." (The Record); "So darkly delicious and ghastly that you're squirming in your seat even as you're doubled over laughing." (Variety).

August: Osage County is the winner of the 2008 Pulitzer Prize, Drama League, Drama Desk, New York Drama Critics and Outer Critics Circle Awards for Best Play, and has been nominated for seven Tony Awards.

August: Osage County now features Michael Milligan (Little Charles), Estelle Parsons (Violet Weston), Brian Kerwin (Steve Heidebrecht), Kimberly Guerrero (Johnna Monevata), Robert Foxworth (Charlie Aiken), Michael McGuire (Beverly Weston), Mariann Mayberry (Karen Weston), Madeleine Martin (Jean Fordham), Johanna Day (Barbara Fordham), Dee Pelletier (Ivy Weston), Frank Wood (Bill Fordham), Molly Regan (Mattie Fai Aiken) and Scott Jaeck (Sherrif Deon Gilbeau).

The drama had its world premiere at Chicago's Steppenwolf, directed Anna D. Shapiro, where it ran from 28 Jun - 26 Aug 2007.

Anna D. Shapiro, once again directs the production, which marks her Broadway debut. The design team features Todd Rosenthal (sets), Ana Kuzmanic (costumes), Ann Wrightson (lights), Richard Woodbury (sound) and David Singer (original music).

August: Osage County is produced on Broadway by Jeffrey Richards, Jean Doumanian, Steve Traxler and Jerry Frankel, in association with Steppenwolf Theatre Company.

Click here to buy tickets for August: Osage Wilson

Originally published on