T.R. Knight to join It's Only a Play from 31 Mar 2015

Producers of the star-studded Broadway revival of Terrence McNally's comedy It's Only a Play have announced that Emmy nominee T.R. Knight will join the cast in the role of Frank Finger on 31 March 2015, replacing Maulik Pancholy who will play his final performance on 29 March 2015.

T.R. Knight is perhaps best known for his Emmy-nominated TV role of George O’Malley on ABC's 'Grey's Anatomy.' He was last seen on Broadway in 'A Life in the Theatre,' and has also appeared in 'Tartuffe' and 'Noises Off.'

Knight joins on the same date as returning original cast member Nathan Lane, who will take over the role of 'James Wicker' from Martin Short (also departing the production on 29 March 2015). Both Knight and Lane will remain in the production until its closing date of 7 June 2015 at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre.

It's Only a Play opened at the Gerald Schoenfeld Theatre on 9 October 2014, following previews from 28 August, to mixed reviews, and transferred to its current home of the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre from 23 January 2015.

Synopsis: "The comedy is set on the opening night of Peter Austin's new play, as he anxiously awaits to see if his show is a hit. On the biggest night of his life, he shares this with his best friend, a television star, his fledgling producer, his erratic leading lady, his wunderkind director, an infamous drama critic, and a wide-eyed coat check attendant. It's Only a Play is a Broadway comedy about the comedy of Broadway."

Directed by three-time Tony Award winner Jack O'Brien, the current cast includes F. Murray Abraham (Ira Drew), Matthew Broderick (Peter Austin), Stockard Channing (Virginia Noyes), Katie Finneran (Julia Budder), Maulik Pancholy (Frank Finger), Martin Short (James Wicker), and Micah Stock (Gus P. Head).

The creative team of It's Only a Play features scenic design by Scott Pask, costumes by Ann Roth, lighting by Philip Rosenberg, and sound design by Fitz Patton.

It's Only a Play is produced on Broadway by Tom Kirdahy, Roy Furman, Ken Davenport, Hunter Arnold, Morris Berchard and Susan Dietz, Caiola Productions, Carl Daikeler, Jim Fantaci, Wendy Federman, Barbara Freitag and Loraine Alterman Boyle, Hugh Hayes, Jim Herbert, Ricardo F. Hornos, Stephanie Kramer, LAMS Productions, Scott Landis, Mark Lee and Ed Filipowski, Harold Newman, Roy Putrino, Sanford Robertson, Tom Smedes and Peter Stern, and Brian Cromwell Smith.

- by Tom Millward

T.R. Knight