New York Theatre Guide for reviews, tickets and listings
Broadway News Report

Thu 22 Dec 2016 return to previous page

Michael Urie to host 62nd Annual Drama Desk Awards

Michael UrieDrama Desk Awards
Michael Urie

Gretchen Shugart and Charles Wright have announced that Drama Desk Award winner Michael Urie will return next year to host the 62st Annual Drama Desk Awards on Sunday, 4 June 2017 at 8pm at The Town Hall. (Nominations for these awards will be revealed on Thursday, 27 April 2017 at 10am at Feinstein's/54 Below).

Shugart released the following statement:

"Celebrating New York City theater gives us a chance to showcase the creativity, diversity and excitement that is on and off Broadway with people around the globe. And with the amazing Michael Urie again leading the show, we know it will be a great night."
Michael Urie earned Drama Desk Awards in 2013 for 'Buyer & Cellar' (Outstanding Solo Performance) and in 2010 for 'The Temperamentals' (Outstanding Ensemble Performance). He has appeared on Broadway as Bud Frump in 'How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying' in 2012. Other off-Broadway credits include 'Shows for Days,' 'The Cherry Orchard,' 'Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes / Part 1: Millennium Approaches' and 'Angels in America: A Gay Fantasia on National Themes / Part 2: Perestroika.' He is also well known for his recurring TV role as Marc St. James in "Ugly Betty."

The Drama Desk nominating committee is composed of: David Barbour, Chairperson (Lighting & Sound America); Linda Buchwald (freelance, American Theatre, Playbill, TDF Stages, Theatre is Easy, JTA); Peter Filichia (Broadway Select, author); David Finkle (Blogger, Huffington Post, Clyde Fitch Report); Sandy MacDonald (Time Out New York); Andy Propst (author); Douglas Strassler (Garden State Journal); Zachary Stewart (TheaterMania); and Charles Wright (President, Drama Desk), ex officio.

Drama Desk was founded in 1949 to explore key issues in the theater and to bring together critics and writers in an organization to support the ongoing development of theater in New York. The organization began presenting its awards in 1955, and it is the only critics' organization to honor achievement in the theater with competition among Broadway, Off Broadway and Off-Off Broadway productions in the same categories.

- by Tom Millward

News Extra
- Latest News
- Rumors & Gossip
- Free weekly email Newsletter


Buy Broadway Tickets New York Hotels
Top of page
Latest News
Return to previous page

DISCLAIMER : Every effort has been made to ensure the accuracy of the information contained in these pages. We accept no responsibility for any errors.

© Copyright: all rights reserved